Inspirational Young Female Professionals Series #1: Introducing Elaine Clark!

Good morning my dearest readers!

It is with great pleasure that today positively profession-elle launches its “Inspirational Young Female Professionals Series”!!! This is something I am very excited about as it will allow us all to explore strategies for achieving balance in life and gain great insight into fostering meaningful educational and professional careers, through the eyes of some very special and inspirational young women!

Without further ado, please give a warm, positively profession-elle welcome to Elaine Clark, from the non-profit organization Soul Shakti!

Here is what she had to say about the things that bring her strength and the experiences that make her work meaningful…truly inspirational! Thank you so much Elaine!

www.elaine-clark.com
www.soulshakti.org

Maya Angelou once said; “I’ve learned that making a living is not the same as making a life.” How has your career path allowed you to find fulfillment and purpose in your life beyond simply ‘making a living’? 

My career path so far has really pushed me to grow beyond what I thought I was capable of. I often realize that my fulfillment comes from the continuous growth I seek in my teachings, speaking, and writing.

I remember teaching my first yoga class and soon after presenting my first workshop. I could have not felt more natural and simultaneously afraid. Before standing up to speak in front of an audience, I would literally want to run away, my hands would turn cold and clammy, and I would doubt myself. But when I walked into the room and I began speaking, it was as if something else seemed to take over me. To this day, I still get nervous, but I have a sense that whatever I share is aligned with something greater than me and so much more meaningful that simply “making a living”.

I also feel a great sense of purpose when I have the opportunity to empower others, especially the disadvantaged women I work with in India, and in return I feel empowered much the same. I just love that quote, “We learn and work to serve others but we serve others to learn about ourselves.”

What brings balance to your life?

With such a busy travel schedule between Ottawa and Toronto, India and other international countries throughout the year, I need a lot of “me time”. There is nothing more inspiring and balancing for me than sitting by a waterfront- and that can be the modest, partially frozen Ottawa River or the mystical Ganga.I also really enjoy listening to or reading something inspirational. My curiosity always has a way of getting me out of a critical state about my life or myself. I really trust that my curiosity to learn will keep the flavour of balance and inspiration alive in me.

Was there a special person, mentor, moment or experience in your past that you drew inspiration from in order to persevere and achieve success in your professional life?

It is truly amazing how beautifully and effortlessly life can blossom when you are tapped into your passions. I remember my first trip to Rajasthan, India as a pivotal time in my life. This trip was not only my initial exposure into the Eastern self-healing practices, which I now incorporate into my teachings, but it was the birth of a dormant force that came alive inside of me. It was as though I intuitively knew I would be back to enhance my study and work on initiatives to empower women.

I also feel so blessed and thankful to have had so many incredible teachers in my life, and not just in the traditional sense, but through people who have really challenged me and forced me to question my beliefs, my passions, and ultimately the direction of my life. More than anything, I believe it is those people who have caused me much emotional discomfort that have been my greatest teachers.

What advice would you give Positively Profession-elle readers?

Find out what makes you burn brighter and let that be your guidance. Just as the saying goes, I truly believe that what we need in this world more than anything is for people to come alive- for people to express their true self and live a meaningful existence. I also encourage readers to stop comparing themselves to others, which can be a very daunting and discouraging experience. I believe each of us is here on a personal journey to learn about ourselves and our environment, to share life with those around us, and to achieve the full potential of our unique talents.

One thought on “Inspirational Young Female Professionals Series #1: Introducing Elaine Clark!

  1. Pingback: Positively Profession-elle Joins the Globelle Team… | positively profession-elle

Leave a comment